Blackberry Enterprise Server 5.0

Posted: October 9, 2009 in Computer and Internet

Trying to get certified for BES 5.0 I’ve created a VM with Small Business Server 2003 R2 on my Hyper-V server at home so I could get started fast with the new BES. I installed SBS 2003 because the installation of BES 5.0 is not supported on SBS 2008 by RIM and by installing a SBS I would have a Exchange server to test and connect the BES server to. After the SBS was installed I downloaded the trial software from the RIM website and started installing.

The first thing I bumped into was that the setup detected a MSDE (from the SBS SharePoint Services) and it did not created a new instance. Later in the setup I couldn’t connect to the MSDE so I quickly altered the ini file and ran the MSDE setup, man that was a long time ago :-). After the setup was finished and I changed the network connections setting for the MSDE the setup of the BES server continued without problems. If you don’t know how to set the network connection settings check out KB18176 from RIM.
NOTE: If you don’t have the correct connections settings you will get this error in the BES logs files, more specific in the BBAS log file: The TCP/IP connection to the host  has failed. java.net.ConnectException: Connection refused: connect

With the BES 5.0 freshly installed I wanted to logon to the new web interface. But then my second problem presented itself. Instead of the webpage where I should be able to logon I got the nice error page. It did not take long the find out that the problem was this: the BES 5.0 installed a Apache server and tried to bind with port 443. Again you can use the BBAS log file of the BES were you will find this error: LifecycleException: Protocol handler initialization failed: java.net.BindException: Address already in use: JVM_Bind:443.
You don’t have to use the log files of the BES to finger out this one. You can you into the Application log of the server where you can find this event: The description for Event ID ( 4 ) in Source ( BAS-AS ) cannot be found. The local computer may not have the necessary registry information or message DLL files to display messages from a remote computer. You may be able to use the /AUXSOURCE= flag to retrieve this description; see Help and Support for details. The following information is part of the event: BAS-AS.
The Blackberry Administration webpage uses SSL, but this was already binded with my Default Website from IIS. Also the BlackBerry Administration Service – Application Server will stop if it cannot bind with the configured port. I didn’t want to change the configuration of the IIS server and started searching through the Blackberry forums. My search let me to this KB18175, which describes how you can change to listening port of the BAS (Blackberry Administration Service).

BES 5.0 is now up and running, let’s get cracking!

Leave a Reply

